The Doors

Like many home in America, mine has a front door.  It’s not a super high efficient state of the art front door mind you, no mine came from much humbler beginnings.

One night, many moons ago I was over at a neighbor’s house conversing about the latest and greatest in hand tools or whatever else typical males talk about when the topic shifted to the dusty door laying on the ground.

“What are you going to do with that?” I asked pointing at the door.

“Burn it.” my neighbor replied.

“Mind if I buy it from you? I need a new front door.”

“You can have it, I was just going to burn it a bonfire.”

I ran across the street grabbed my SUV and loaded up the door and headed home proud as a peacock.  My wife, however, wasn’t so thrilled with my recent find and to her credit the door was ugly.  It was a dark brown masterpiece straight out of 1970, but I saw the beauty contained within, my wife not so much.

Broken Doors Apart

A few weeks later and after buying a couple of new tools (all men know new tools are required to hang doors) I had a new front door.  Oh sure the door hangs slightly askew and is isn’t perfect, but it opens, closes, and keeps the weather out so I guess it meets the qualifications needed for a door.

I’ve walked through that door more times than I can remember over the years and each time I cross the threshold, nothing inside me changes.  What I mean to say is that I am who I am whether I am inside my house hanging with my family watching a movie or whether I’m outside in the world chasing down my destiny I don’t change who I am.  I am a husband, father, all around good guy who has a wonderful smile and smells pretty nice and no matter where I am.

There is another door in my life, this door is better constructed than the one on my house (the person who hung it must have known what they were doing unlike me), but just like the door on the front of my house. I’m the same person whether I’m inside or outside.

This door is the front door to my church and no matter if I’m sitting inside the sanctuary at mass or sitting in the parking lot I’m Catholic.  I’m not Catholic for just one hour a week when I’m at mass, no sir I’m Catholic 24/7.

We need to realize that we are all Catholic not just when we are at mass, but also when we are out in the “real world” and we need to do a better job of taking our Faith out into world with us.  We need not celebrate our Faith for a mere 60 minutes a week, but rather celebrate it 24/7.

Pope Francis met with media

Pope Francis recently tweeted “We cannot keep ourselves shut up in parishes, in our communities, when so many people are waiting for the Gospel!”  Follow the Holy Father’s advice take your Faith through the doors when you leave, spread the Gospel, live your Faith, the results could be no less than revolutionary.

2 thoughts on “The Doors

Leave a Reply

