Mission Impossible

Like the majority of adult males I have two eyes in the front of my head.  They function much the same as everyone else’s eyes do, although mine need a little help from the eye doctor to make sure my vision is up to snuff.  I can see only the direction that my face is pointing, so in essence I retain the standard 100 degree field of vision common in most adult Homo-sapiens.  I do not, although I wish I did at time especially with a dog and a child running around my house, have the 360 degree vision field some birds possess.

Reading glasses

So why is that I am spending an inordinate amount of time describing my eyesight to you?  The better question you should be asking yourselves right now is why are you still reading about it.  I could understand if my audience was composed solely of optometrists, then the whole eye study makes perfect sense.  Anyway I digress, the reason I am describing my eye sight and for that matter the number of eyes in my head it to prove to you that I am normal, well as normal as one can be I guess.

For you see the other day I awoke from my late winter slumber, not with such a clatter as one finds present in mid-winter, but more with a sudden shake one finds present in late winter.  I rubbed the sleep from my normal eyes and a thought popped into my head.  What follows is a transcript of the conversation I had with the voice in your head. Sometimes I like to think that voice is God speaking to me in the predawn hours so for sake of my narrative I’m going to call the voice God.

“I want to you think of something impossible,” God said.

“Why, it’s early and I just want 10 more minutes of sleep before I have to get up for work,” I said still wiping the sleep from my eyes.

“Go ahead fall back asleep, you know I’ll just talk to you there as well.” God said, his voice gentle and soothing.

I stared in to predawn darkness. “Fine, I’ll tell you something impossible.  It’s impossible to look behind you without turning your head.”

“I knew you where going to say that.” God said.

“Of course you did, you’re God you know everything.  But seriously, how you make me see what’s behind me.  Last time I checked I didn’t have eyes in the back my head.  Check and mate,” I said. “Now can I go back to sleep?”

“Not so fast,” God replied. “You haven’t allowed me to answer.”

“Hit me with your best shot,” I said.

“A mirror” God said.

“Wait a minute, you can’t use a mirror,” I said.

“Why not?  You just said that it was impossible for you to look behind you and if you are looking into a mirror is it not possible.”

“Yeah but you can’t use objects.” I said.

“I can use whatever there is at my disposal to accomplish My will and to make the impossible possible.”

English: Vintage clock radio

The sound of my snoozed alarm clock filled the room and I fell out of bed and headed toward the shower.  I paused by the bathroom mirror and glanced at the wall behind me. Impossible made possible.

I’ve spent too much of my life thinking God works in a vacuum that His will works independently of the people and places in my life.  Reality is that God works through the objects and the people placed in my life.  It is through this slight shift in my own perspective that I have begun to God at work in my life more clearly each day, well as clearly as I can with my imperfect vision.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to have my eyes examined.

Woody attempts to read the eye chart in The Re...

2 thoughts on “Mission Impossible

  1. Ah, your audience has come to expect great things from you, this is why they read on while you describe how your eyesight is pretty much like everyone else’s. 😉

Leave a Reply

