Deep thought Friday…What’s in a Name

 

Today’s deep thought has me focusing the importance of names.  The Catechism spells out why God revealed Himself and His name beautifully.

 

211      The divine name, “I Am” or “He Is,” expresses God’s faithfulness: despite the faithlessness of men’s sin and the punishment it deserves, he keeps “steadfast love for thousands.”21 By going so far as to give up his own Son for us, God reveals that he is “rich in mercy.”22 By giving his life to free us from sin, Jesus reveals that he himself bears the divine name: “When you have lifted up the Son of man, then you will realize that ‘I Am.’”23(604)

God alone IS

 

I realize that I am a day ahead in the read the Catechism in a year plan here, but what can I say this paragraph really spoke to me.  Have a great weekend.

 

 

God's mysterious ways

God’s mysterious ways (Photo credit: timtom.ch)

2 thoughts on “Deep thought Friday…What’s in a Name

Leave a Reply

