Blogging A Retrospective

Blogging, since it’s inception, has been responsible for many things. It has broken news stories and has helped many things achieve viral status.  Blogging helps to give self esteem to many cyclists and triathletes who post about their latest and greatest workout and helps aspiring writers and photographers find an audience.

If you had asked me a year and half ago if I was a blogger, I would have looked at you like you where crazy.  I had heard of blogging, but no way no how was I going to enter into that world.  I had already worked as an opinion columnist while in college and the pressure to come up with a new topic every week was partially responsible for my early baldness.  I spent way too many late nights typing under deadline trying to come up with the latest opinion piece only to find out my Pulitzer worthy piece was cut from the paper because a story on new chairs in the school cafeteria ran long.  The stress was simply too much.

Then exactly one year ago, in an effort to add more stress to my already stressful life, I signed up for my very own blog.  I signed up after reminiscing one afternoon about my former collegiate glory. Part of that reminiscence included my opinion column and in and effort to stave off an early early midlife crisis I started typing.

The first few weeks of the blog were pure bliss.  I had complete freedom to write whatever I wanted.  There was no underpaid editor screaming down my neck to get the story on their desk by 8 am Tuesday morning.  I could post on Tuesday or Friday if I chose to.  I could even skip a week if I got busy or if a Doogie Howser marathon was on.  The freedom the blogging experience gave me was exhilarating.  It was the creative outlet I had been looking for

But then it happened.  It was about six months ago and suddenly I ran out of things to write about.    Topics that once flowed forth from my fingers like the waters in the mighty Mississippi had slowed to a trickle.  I struggled to come up with topics to write about and when I did figure something out it always sounded better in my head than on paper.  My bald spot grew larger every day from the stress and my lovely auburn hair was quickly turning gray.

While it is true that I have less hair and it is also true that what hair I do have left is way more gray than a year ago, I have finally come to the realization that I am a blogger.  I know that eventually all my hair will probably turn silver from the stress of this blog, but then again it will probably turn grey because I am simply getting old.  I have realized over the past year that I am a blogger, a member of the new evangelization.

I never thought I would be a blogger, but then again I never thought I would be Catholic.  So I guess the possibility of being a Catholic blogger was never on my radar screen, but yet that is what I am.  For those that read and follow my blog, don’t worry I plan on continuing my ramblings and musings until my last grey hair falls out, which if the past year is any indication won’t be too long in the future.  Thank you all for reading my blog and God Bless.

9 thoughts on “Blogging A Retrospective

  1. ROFL!!! So THAT’S the cause of your male-pattern baldness? Thanks for enlightening the blogging world. But I hear ya! I think God sometimes leads us out of our comfort zone so that we have to rely on HIm to do what ever it is He seems to be asking us to do…..Catholic blogging being one of them. What’s the deal with the pooch?

  2. Ha, ha, what a great piece. 🙂

    You have the gift Daniel, keep on typing my man. We ruthless readers could care less whether you go completely bald serving us, the main thing to remember is our insatiable need for great writing must be fed, no matter what. In fact, we expect your next post to be on our desk by 9am Monday morning sharp, and no excuses! 🙂

    However, I must strongly object to you stealing that photo of me partying down at the recent Catholic Blogger’s Convention directly off my site and then claiming it’s your dog. But ok, ok, I guess I do see the resemblance.

    And what happened with the new chairs in the cafeteria anyway? Are you just going to leave us hanging on that one, with no conclusion to such an important story??

    Arf, arf!!!

    • Phil: Apologies all around for the photo, may have posted wrong one 😉 I’ll have to look into the cafeteria chairs for you. An update will be posted here once I find out the status of the chairs and of course assuming the update doesn’t get cut by the blog’s editor. Thanks for reading and thanks for the comment.

  3. Hi Daniel,

    Ok, a real comment this time. I don’t know if you experience this.

    I LOVE writing, but….

    I’ve had trouble sticking with a blog for years, since before there were such things called blogs.

    But put me on an interesting forum, and I go in to a manic typoholic frenzy that can last for months. As example, when I first found Catholic Answers, I must have typed 300 posts in 3 days. It was a non-stop round the clock typing marathon.

    To me, writing a blog is kind of like playing tennis by yourself. Blog comments help, but it’s just not a format that really wants to encourage ongoing conversations.

    At least for me, my writing seems to thrive on interaction, on somebody whacking the ball back across the net. Not sure if others experience this….

    • Phil:

      I agree with you that blogging can at times seem like a lonely outpost on the internet. I too have spent times in forums and message boards actively engaged in conversation. However, for me the solitude of a blog better suits my personality. A blog affords me the opportunity to fully develop my thoughts. While I do miss the conversational aspect of the message boards, I will gladly sacrifice that for the sake of fully developing my thoughts. Comments from readers like you make me feel that my efforts are not completely in vain and for that I thank you. God Bless.

  4. Hi again Daniel,

    As best I can tell, your experience is far more common than mine.

    I’ve been able to locate over 2,000+ Catholic blogs, but only around a dozen Catholic forums, and some of those forums are pretty quiet, or basically dead. The only Catholic forum with serious traffic may be Catholic Answers, which isn’t open to all Catholics.

    If my research is more or less accurate, it raises some interesting questions about the Catholic community online.

    For myself, I find it easier to develop my thoughts in an environment like forums, where it’s pretty much guaranteed that a number of folks will challenge my thoughts. But I do realize this isn’t the experience that most seek, and the facts seem to confirm that.

    Anyway, like you, I’m very interested in the experience of writing online and look forward to discussing it with you. I like the way you craft your posts, and look forward to learning from your example.

Leave a Reply

