Why Didn’t I Think of This Before

As a cyclist I am always looking for new and innovative foods to eat while out riding.  I’ve experimented with many different types of foods, I’ve tried Peanut Butter and Jelly the good old standby of the jersey pocket. I also eaten bananas, apples, and raisins.  All of which are good food choices.

The red candy corn isn’t rotten it’s the new Carmel Apple flavor. Very delicious.

This past week I started experimenting with a new bike delicacy.  Candy corn and peanuts mixed together.  This little treat has been a fall staple in my house for years, but its use for bike fuel has eluded me until this past week.

Candy Corn Peanuts is very easy to make. Take a bag of candy corn and a jar of peanuts pour into a bowl and shake.  That’s it.  You don’t even need to turn on a stove.

To use this mixture as bike fuel.  Simply fill up a snack sized ziplock bag and place in your jersey pocket.  The mixture is delicious and provides the right mixture of sweet and salty when out for a ride.  The peanuts are also a good source of protein.

Candy Corn bagged and ready to go.

The one downside to this mixture is that it is slightly difficult to eat with bike gloves on.  I ended up dropping quite a few peanuts and candy corn pieces on the ground as I was on my ride.  I would not use this mixture while racing or in a competitive group ride as you would undoubtably end up pelting fellow riders with dropped pieces of candy corn.

For the recreational ride, however, it works perfectly. The candy corn doesn’t melt when sitting in the jersey pocket for extended periods of time and the saltiness of the peanuts tastes great while riding.

Candy corn and peanuts is a simple yet elegant solution to your on bike fueling needs. While this has typically been a fall treat in my house, I am now thinking it may become a yearlong staple in my cycling food rotation.

3 thoughts on “Why Didn’t I Think of This Before

  1. I would normally never eat candy corn because it is made with High Fructose Corn Syrup. However, it tastes so good that I think I am going to have to try this combination (in a few weeks the candy corn won’t even be on the shelves at the local market anyway — so I can’t become TOO addicted).

    • I need to double check the bag, but I believe Brach’s candy corn doesn’t contain High Fructose Corn syrup, but rather regular corn syrup and honey. But you’re right, it’s only available a short time so it is worth the indulgence.

Leave a Reply

