I’m Getting a Divorce

I’ve been giving my life a whole lot thought recently and I come to the conclusion that I need a divorce.  There really isn’t any other option in my life right now, I’ve looked at the issue from all sides and have decided a divorce is the only way out for me.

Now I know what you all are thinking. Isn’t divorce against your religion, you are Catholic after all.  Yes, you are correct in assuming divorce is against my religion. I strongly believe that what God has joined no man can put asunder (asunder is one of my favorite words by the way).

So why then would I be seeking a divorce if it goes against one of my fundamental beliefs. Well to be honest I’m not talking about divorcing my wife, I love her more now than when I married her 10 years ago. No, I am talking about getting a divorce from my stuff.

I have way too much stuff in my house and it gets in the way.  It gets in the way of my walking upstairs, of getting into closets and it prevents me from parking two cars in my garage.  I need a divorce from my stuff.

Wether we like it or not we all have a relationship with the stuff we have.  Just like our relationships with our spouses and our family our relationship with stuff takes time and energy.  How many times have you walked by some particular item in your house and felt guilty that you haven’t used it in a while?  All of our stuff in our homes requires attention, maintenance and thought.  Just like all of our other relationships.

Here is a prime example of what I am talking about.  I was just out in my garage and counted up how many hammers I own.  Now keep in mind, I  am not in a profession that requires me to use a hammer every day.  I own a staggering seven hammers.  Now what in the world would I ever need seven hammers for.  Last time I checked I only have two hands so even if I became Danny Hammerhands I would still have 5 hammers  on my wall.  Heck, I could even use a different hammer every day of the week if I wanted to.

So what’s the big deal, you own seven hammers who cares.  The problem is that each one of these hammers has a cost of ownership associated with it.  A cost that is measured in time and space. It took me a lot of time to find the perfect spot for each hammer on the wall.  I had to go the hardware store to find the mounting hardware for the pegboard then find a spot and then hang in on the wall.  Quite a bit of time when into this seemingly insignificant act of organization.

What if the time I had devoted my time hammering out prayers to God rather than  organizing my hammers or what if my wife and I had taken a walk. Would these relationships be better than they already are?  I don’t know the answer, but I can assume I would be happier as I would prefer to spend time with God and my wife rather than a collection of hammers.

The stuff that we surround our lives with can serve as a barrier to who God wants us to be, so for the sake of your marriage and relationship with God please consider getting a divorce (from your stuff, not your spouse).

PS If anyone is in need of a hammer let me know I seem to have plenty.

18 thoughts on “I’m Getting a Divorce

  1. Whoa! Great writing!

    Your clever title and opening paragraphs tricked my nosy nature in to reading about you organizing your sock drawer.

    Now THAT is proof of miracles, and justice too. 🙂

    Very well done, applause from here, you’re bookmarked.

Leave a Reply

