Ten Years and Counting

I wish to apologize in advance for any and all grammatical errors in this post. While I give my posts a complete edit, my wife’s careful editorial eye usually scans my work before I post it.  Since I am posting this without her knowledge or consent it is missing her editing skills so if you see one or two mistakes that’s why.

The reason my lovely wife is not reading this post is simple, today is our 10 year anniversary.  Not too shabby when you consider the current divorce rate in America.  We’ve survived the newlywed stage, buying the first house stage, the new puppy stage (barely), the new parent stage.  We even made it through the seven year itch unscathed.  Although if memory serves me right I was awfully itchy that year, but I think it had more to do with poison ivy and mosquito bites than marital problems.

In honor of all that we have gone through over the past 10 years; this year I am going to purchase a gift for my wife that follows the traditional gifts given on an anniversary.

I have not done this at all in the past, forgoing the traditional “paper” on year one for a fiberglass shower surround needed for our basement.  We also didn’t follow tradition in year two when we bought our very first boat instead of something made from cotton.  It was a lovely James Bondesq runabout with a motor that wouldn’t shift into reverse.  Nothing but the finest for my wife.

No this year I will follow suit and actually buy you a gift based on tradition.  It is tradition after all that helps to define marriage.  A quick scan of wikipedia told me the traditional 10 year gift is Tin/Aluminum.

Tin/Aluminum huh, I thought these gifts were supposed to get better the longer you’re married.  Nothing says I love you like a pile tin and six pack of aluminum cans.  Maybe I should rethink this whole tradition thing.

So after numerous google searches and wikipedia articles of what is made out of aluminum and tin I’ve narrowed down to a few items.

First, a replica of the tin man.  My wife loves the musical Wicked so I figured why not get a replica tin man statue for the front yard.  She did after all prove to me that I had a heart when I fell in love with her all those years ago.  A giant tin man statue in the yard would be a nice conversation piece as well.

Then reality struck. We don’t have the money for a giant tin man statue and I know myself well enough that I would forget to oil it and we wouldn’t want a giant squeaky tin man taking up residence in our front yard.  Back to the drawing board I guess.

I guess I could make a pair of aluminum earrings.  I know this would make her the envy of all her friends.  I could carefully sculpt something in the garage and present her with a lovely pair of aluminum earrings.  Then I remember that my welding skills aren’t all that great and welding aluminum takes a talent I don’t have.

I was about ready to concede defeat when I started going through old photos.  Photos of taken at different stages of my wife’s and I life together.  As I looked through the various photos something dawned on me.  Well the first thing that dawned on me is that I have lost a lot of hair since I got married. (My wife is a saint for staying with my bald self) Second thing it isn’t the material things we gave each other through the ears that I cherish the most. It’s my wife.

I then knew exactly what I was going to give her for our anniversary.  A pen.

Before everyone out there in cyberspace throws me under the metaphorical bus for being a cheapskate when it comes to anniversary gifts, let me explain.

I want give my a pen so we can record those moments where we laugh, were we sit around and talk about our hopes and dreams.  I want to fill numerous leather bound volumes with our stories.  So that one day when we are sitting in a retirement home eating easily digestible soft food, we can pull out our notebooks and read my horrible handwriting and remember.

Remember all that makes us.  Remember the good times and the challenging ones.  I want to remember why I fell in love with her in the first place and why I continue to love her everyday of my life.  If we don’t remember were we have been how can we know where are going.

In closing, here is a prayer for all marriages:

We thank you, O God, for the Love You have implanted in our hearts. May it always inspire us to be kind in our words, considerate of feeling, and concerned for each other’s needs and wishes. Help us to be understanding and forgiving of human weaknesses and failings. Increase our faith and trust in You and may Your Prudence guide our life and love. Bless our Marriage O God, with Peace and Happiness, and make our love fruitful for Your glory and our Joy both here and in eternity.

P.S.  I’m pretty sure there is some aluminum in the pen I gave you and this post was typed of a Macbook (made from aluminum). So I did end up following tradition after all.  Happy anniversary sweets, looking forward to many more.

Love ? I love love love you.

2 thoughts on “Ten Years and Counting

Leave a Reply

