Battle of Wills

The response to the psalm at today mass was “Here I am Lord; I come to do your will.”  It was repeated 5 times during the reading.  Each time I repeated back when prompted and each time it struck a chord with me.  Making me realize that I am here on Earth to do the will of God.

The priest then stood behind the pulpit and gave a homily that blew my mind.  He said something to the effect of “When you say ‘Here I am Lord; I come to do your will’ do you say you will do God’s will fully in your life or do you attach condition to it.”  Do you say Lord I will do your will as long as it’s not to difficult or as long as it doesn’t interfere with my life too much?

I sat in my pew trying to wrap my brain around what was being said and taking a mental stock of what God’s will looks like in my own life.  Do I attach conditions to performing the will of or do I give myself freely to the will of the Lord?

I will spare you the details of the conversation that took place in my head, but in the end I realized that I do put obstacles between the will of the Lord and my will.  They take the form of fear, doubt, and others but I do place them between the will of what God wants for me.

I put these obstacles in most days without even knowing it I get distracted easily from the task at hand.  Life is full of distractions and many times I find myself falling victim to them.  I sometimes find myself aimlessly surfing the internet as opposed to composing a blog post.  Soon I am lost in cyberspace and my original thought for the post has been morphed by whatever news story I am reading on Yahoo.

I need to learn how to manage the distractions of life and learn how to fully commit myself to the will of God.  Commit myself to His will no matter the cross placed in my path.  Learn to embrace those crosses and bear them with out hesitation.  Learn to walk this day and every day fully committed to perform the will of God in my life no matter the consequences.

 

 

One thought on “Battle of Wills

  1. We often say in the Lord’s Prayer “Thy will be done” and mean “as long as it is what I want”.

    As you say, fear, doubts, worries and so on come in the way of “Thy will be done”. He gave us free will and we use it to overcome His.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

