Pulled the Plug and Down the Drain

The other day I woke up and in was a pretty good mood. The sun was shining, the birds were singing.  Trees outside were almost in their full fall splendor.  Even the air had that wonderful sugary smell to it that only happens in the fall.  I walked out onto my deck with a cup of coffee to take a quick survey of this wonderful day.  Upon walking out on my deck I realized that I drink and write about coffee quite a bit. It is like my wonderful muse in a cup.  If I have a cup of coffee in my hand I feel like writing, don’t know why but I do.

But I digress, I took a sip of my wonderful cup of muse and started to think.  Which for me can either be a very good thing or a very bad thing depending upon my mood.  Today was one of those days were thinking might not have been the best thing for me, but I continued to explore the recesses of my mind.  I started to think about how easy it is to focus on all the negative things in our lives and not focus on the positive.

We have become very good at not being happy.  Constantly comparing ourselves to other is a recipe for depression it begins to pull the plus on our bathtub of happiness and once that plug is pulled it sometimes easier to watch our happiness go down the drain than it is to stop it.

Everyday God fills our tubs with love and happiness.  If you have faith and if you take a moment to think about all that God does for use everyday in our lives it is almost impossible not to smile. He will refill our tubs anytime we ask, we just have to make sure to ask.

But every tub has a drain and while God fills our tubs with happiness we work to drain them almost as fast.  We start to pull the plug by focusing on what we don’t have rather than what we have. Why isn’t my car as nice as my neighbors, why aren’t I able to take a vacation, why is my yard full of weeds and my lanscaping looks like it was done by a two year old.  All of these things start to drain that tub faster and faster and if we fixate on those things we end up draining our happiness and end up surrounded by emptiness.

Almost every day I pull the plug, not intentionally, but I fixate on those things which serve to empty my life while ignoring all that makes me happy.  When I feel like am pulling the plug and my tub is being drained I’ve learned to stop, walk out on my deck take a big breath of the clean air and begin to focus on all that is good in my life.  The drain gets plugged, the emptiness goes away, I grab a cup of coffee and smile.  I smile knowing that God has filled my tub with so many good things it’s just up to me to recognize it.

(In an effort for full disclosure.  This post was written while consuming a very delicious cup of coffee, which makes me very happy as well as wide awake.  Two very good things.)

Leave a Reply

