What’d you Do?

What’d you do?  It’s a saying I like to use a lot on my dog.  All I have to do is look at her and in a somewhat serious toned voice say “what’d you do?’ and instantly her ears drop and she gets a guilty look on her face.  I don’t know when I first heard that saying.  I’m sure it was bounced off the walls of my childhood house numerous times.  You know parents come home from work and find something out of order, look at the oldest kid and say “What’d you do?”  Upon hearing his my ears would drop and I’d nervously kick at the ground and reply with my best “Awe shucks”.

I hadn’t heard that expression in years when last Easter I heard myself saying to myself as I rolled out of bed. “What’d you do?” I asked heading up stairs to get a cup of coffee. “What’d you do?” I asked again as I sat on my deck drinking my coffee.  I guess what I did hadn’t fully sunk in and I wasn’t sure if what I did had even happened.

What I had done the night before was to sign on the dotted line and become a full fledged Catholic.  The conversion had been years in the making.  Part of me always knew I was to convert, but I was just to stubborn to realize it.  Stubbornness is in my blood, I am part Norwegian and Polish after all.  Well I finally relaxed my stubbornness last fall and started taking RCIA classes.   Well 6 months plus or minus of classes and a few sacraments later I wake up on Easter morning a full fledged member of the Catholic Faith.  What’d you do?

I can’t really explain what I felt like that morning sitting there on my deck basking in the sun’s warm glow. All I know is that a large part of me felt at peace for the first time in a long while.  I was finally home.  It is a feeling I still have to this day.  It sits on the shelf right there next to a big old bottle of What’d you Do.

Those words are running through my mind right now.  What’d you do starting a blog about Catholicism.  All I can say is that I really dont’ know why I did.  I do know that I woke up one morning and felt compelled to stake a claim to a small part of the internet to use as my metaphorical soapbox that I can stand on and preach to an empty room.  I don’t really know what I plan on writing on this blog, all I do know is that I fell compelled to fill it with something. So I write word by word, thought by thought, cup of coffee after cup of coffee and the whole time I sit here perched behind the keyboard the words “What’d you do?” are running through my head letting me know that I’m on the right path.

One thought on “What’d you Do?

Leave a Reply

